Frequently Asked Questions about Veteran Parking
Yes! Effective April 1, 2010, a new policy went into effect that says:
Any veteran, as defined in section 360 of the New York State Education Law, in attendance as a student at the college shall be exempt from parking fees upon submission by the veteran of a written request for exemption together with written certification by the veteran that such veteran was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service.
Yes. The $95 paid when obtaining a student permit covers two fees:
- $84 for parking fee which goes towards parking lot restoration, paving, and upgrades
- $11 for registration costs such as hang-tags, decals, registration booklets, and cost of temporary staff who help issue permits each year
No. The policy, as allowed by SUNY Policy 560.3, only extends to students.
No. The policy only allows veterans to receive the exemption and does not allow them to extend it to family members.
No. The student transportation fee is a separate fee not covered by this policy.
Yes. Although, keep in mind that your student permit is free of charge and temporary permits are already free for the first 24 hours. A request for a free week-long temporary permit would still require completion of the application for exemption and proof of honorable discharge or honorable release.
Beginning with any new registration occurring after April 1, 2010, veterans can request the exemption by doing two things:
Through student announcements, a sign in University Police, our Web site, and word of mouth through other veterans. We are hopeful all veterans that are Alfred State students will take advantage of this courtesy.
No. This is a new policy added into Section IV. (B), effective at Alfred State as of April 1, 2010.
Before parking registration begins for fall 2010 semester, a standard form will be created, approved, and available that will allow you to request the exemption without crafting your own letter.
New York State Education Law, Section 360, defines the term "veteran" as a member of the armed forces of the United States who served in such armed forces in time of war and who was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service. Therefore, a student requesting the exemption must show a DD Form 214 indicating past, completed service. A student still actively serving is not yet a veteran. Alfred State interprets the law to include students who served active duty, were honorably discharged, and decided to continue reserve service as eligible for this exemption. The key document will be the DD Form 214 indicating past service resulting in honorable discharge or release.
If you forget your proof of honorable discharge or DD Form 214, you will still obtain the permit at University Police and the fee will be added onto your student bill. When you have your completed form requesting the exemption and have your proof of honorable discharge or release ready, you may bring those documents to the Student Records and Financial Services Office to have the fee removed from your bill.
The change is created because of a 2007 SUNY Policy, 560.3(c) 3, that allows our campus to exempt veterans from parking fees.
No. The College and the University Police Department will not automatically know that you are eligible. It is up to you to make the request for parking fee exemption and provide substantiating proof.